Ministry and theology… like a ninja.

Evernote

I long for the day when we will finally do away with pens and paper for good, and I will not have to horrify people and embarrass myself with my medical professional-like script.

However, until that day comes, I will have to make do with translating as much of my life as possible into 1’s and 0’s .
With that in mind, recently I discovered Evernote – a program which  makes me absolutely giddy with nerdy excitement.

Evernote is really quite a simple concept.  Basically it is a program which allows you to make notes – long or short – on any subject.

‘But wait!’ I hear you say.  ‘I can do that with notebook or Word, I don’t need no fancy pants program.’

Well maybe so, but hear me out.

Evernote becomes an invaluable resource for prolific note-takers in quite a few ways.

  1. Evernote notes are completely searachable
  2. You can add as many tags as you like to each note.
  3. Images and pdf’s are easily saved in Evernote notes
  4. Websites can be automatically clipped and saved in Evernote (once you have downloaded your browser’s Evernote add-on).
  5. Pdf’s and images saved into Evernote with identifiable text are also searchable.
  6. Evernote is available on PC, Mac, and virtually every smart phone on the market.
  7. It’s free! (with minimal ads)

And finally, the clincher, your Evernote notebook is automatically synced to their server and retrievable if your computer dies, you buy a new computer, or you use your iPhone (or other phone) in tandem with your computer.

In my first post here I mentioned the idea of ‘going broad’.  Getting interested in as many different things as possible.  Evernote is an invaluable ministry tool for keeping track of the 1000’s of snippets of information that the average ministry-minded person comes across in his or her life.

Highly recommended.

PG

2 responses

  1. I’ll give it a go. If it can prove useful in one week in the refining fire that is honours, I’ll keep it 🙂

    In the past I’ve used diigo to bookmark. You can highlight and annotate from websites and access it from anywhere. Their app even works with Chrome but for some reason I don’t use it as much as I used to. That said, I still find diigo easier to use than Chrome bookmarks.

    January 28, 2011 at 1:34 am

  2. Yesterday i spent 300 $ for platinium roulette system , i
    hope that i will make my first $$ online

    January 7, 2015 at 2:17 am

Leave a Reply

